The Master's Apprentice by Oliver Pötzsch

The Master's Apprentice by Oliver Pötzsch A young man’s destined quest becomes a dance with the devil in a mesmerizing retelling of the Faust legend by the bestselling author of the Hangman’s Daughter Tales series.

It’s the fifteenth century and only heretics are curious about the universe.

Germany, 1494. Born under a rare alignment of the stars, Johann Georg Gerlach, “the lucky one” to his mother—is fated for greatness. But Johann’s studies and wonder at the sky have made him suspect. Especially in wake of the child disappearances that have left the God-fearing locals trembling and his one true love trapped in terrified catatonia. Her only words: “I have seen the devil…”

Banished from Knittlingen as cursed, Johann crosses paths with Tonio del Moravia. The traveling fortune-teller and master of the arcane arts recognizes something extraordinary in the wanderer. Taking Johann under his wing, Tonio promises a new world of knowledge and sensations. But with it comes a sinister web of deception and a chilling prophecy.

The stars are set to align again. Now Johann must draw on the skills of his apprenticeship to solve the dark mystery that grips his village in fear and the deepening mystery of his own destiny.

The Light of Days by Judy Batalion

The Light of Days by Judy Batalion Enter to win 1 of 50 advance reader's editions of Judy Batalion's The Light of Days, a spectacular, searing history that uncovers the story of Jewish women resistance fighters--now optioned by Steven Spielberg for a major motion picture.

As revelatory as Hidden Figures and propulsively thrilling as Band of Brothers, The Light of Days tells the incredible true story of the heroic women who led the Jewish resistance movement.

Witnesses to the brutal murder of their families and neighbors and the violent destruction of their communities, a cadre of Jewish women in Poland—some still in their teens—helped transform the Jewish youth groups into resistance cells to fight the Nazis. With courage, guile, and nerves of steel, these “ghetto girls” paid off Gestapo guards, hid revolvers in loaves of bread and jars of marmalade, and helped build systems of underground bunkers. They flirted with German soldiers, bribed them with wine, whiskey, and home cooking, used their Aryan looks to seduce them, and shot and killed them. They bombed German train lines and blew up a town’s water supply. They also nursed the sick and taught children.

Yet the exploits of these courageous resistance fighters have remained virtually unknown. Until now. Writer Judy Batalion, the granddaughter of Polish Holocaust survivors, delivers an unforgettable tale of war, bravery, friendship, and survival.

“[A] resounding history.” — Kirkus (Starred Review)

Truths I Never Told You by Kelly Rimmer

Truths I Never Told You by Kelly Rimmer Enter to win 1 of 25 Advanced Reader Copies of Truths I Never Told You by Kelly Rimmer!

“Fans of Jodi Picoult and Kristin Hannah now have a new go-to author.” —Sally Hepworth, bestselling author of The Secrets of Midwives

From the bestselling author of The Things We Cannot Say comes a poignant post-WWII novel that explores the expectations society places on women set within an engrossing family mystery that may unravel everything once believed to be true.

With her father recently moved to a care facility, Beth Walsh volunteers to clear out the family home and is surprised to discover the door to her childhood playroom padlocked. She’s even more shocked at what’s behind it—a hoarder’s mess of her father’s paintings, mounds of discarded papers and miscellaneous junk in the otherwise fastidiously tidy house.

As she picks through the clutter, she finds a loose journal entry in what appears to be her late mother’s handwriting. Beth and her siblings grew up believing their mother died in a car accident when they were little more than toddlers, but this note suggests something much darker.

Beth soon pieces together a disturbing portrait of a woman suffering from postpartum depression and a husband who bears little resemblance to the loving father Beth and her siblings know. With a newborn of her own and struggling with motherhood, Beth finds there may be more tying her and her mother together than she ever suspected.

PLEASE NO PO BOXES

Your Ad Could Go Here by Oksana Zabuzhko

Your Ad Could Go Here by Oksana Zabuzhko Oksana Zabuzhko, author of “the most influential Ukrainian book in the fifteen years since independence,” Fieldwork in Ukrainian Sex, returns with a gripping short story collection.

Oksana Zabuzhko, Ukraine’s leading public intellectual, is called upon to make sense of the unthinkable reality of our times. In this breathtaking short story collection, she turns the concept of truth over in her hands like a beautifully crafted pair of gloves. From the triumph of the Orange Revolution, which marked the start of the twenty-first century, to domestic victories in matchmaking, sibling rivalry, and even tennis, Zabuzhko manages to shock the reader by juxtaposing things as they are—inarguable, visible to the naked eye—with how things could be, weaving myth and fairy tale into pivotal moments just as we weave a satisfying narrative arc into our own personal mythologies.

At once intimate and worldly, these stories resonate with Zabuzhko’s irreverent and prescient voice, echoing long after reading.

The Buddhist on Death Row by David Sheff

The Buddhist on Death Row by David Sheff Jarvis Jay Masters’ early life was a horror story whose outlines we know too well, alas. Born in a hard part of Long Beach, CA, his home was filled with crack, alcohol, physical abuse, and the men who paid his mother for sex. He and his siblings were split up and sent into foster care when he was six, from whence he progressed quickly to juvenile detention, car theft, armed robbery, and ultimately San Quentin. While in prison, he was set up for the murder of a prison guard, a crime which landed him on death row, where he’s been since 1986.

At the time of his murder trial, he was also in solitary confinement, a 5’-by-11’ cell he would occupy for 22 years. He was by turns sullen and violent, an understandable combination given his circumstances, but also one that produced unbearable headaches, seizures, and panic attacks. A counselor repeatedly offered to teach him breathing exercises, but he insulted the offers again and again until desperation forced him to ask her how to do “that meditation shit.”

That’s where Masters’ life and this book take off. With uncanny clarity, Sheff describes the nuts and bolts of enlightenment. We discover each nut, each bolt as Masters does: how easy and how hard it is to just sit and breathe; how one minute of sitting can become five, then ten, then twenty; how those minutes spawn heightened perception and deepened compassion, the right way to remember one’s pain, and much more.

The Time of Jacob's Trouble by Donna VanLiere

The Time of Jacob's Trouble by Donna VanLiere Enter for a chance to win a FREE, SIGNED copy of The Time of Jacob's Trouble by New York Times bestselling author Donna VanLiere.

The bestselling author of The Christmas Shoes now explores a future world facing its final days in The Time of Jacob’s Trouble, weaving end-times prophecies into the lives of Emma and her friends as they struggle to survive and come face-to-face with the chilling truth about the disappearances.

My Name Is Tani . . . and I Believe in Miracles by Tani Adewumi

My Name Is Tani . . . and I Believe in Miracles by Tani Adewumi He learned chess while living in a homeless shelter. Now he teaches each of us about life.

Enter for your chance to win 1 of 10 final copies of "My Name Is Tani...And I Believe In Miracles" by Tani Adewumi—he didn't know what the Boko Haram was or why they had threatened his family. All he know was that his parents said they were moving to America. Tani and his parents tell us their incredible story of sacrificing everything for family—living with nothing bu hope.

Tani's triumphant spirit reminds us of the power of kindness as he shares his journey of going from refugee to chess champion